Easy D.I.Y.- Sewing FiX

The whole process took less that 30 minutes or so, and now I have a flattering cute top rather than a saggy baggy mess.

So I found this extra large top that I loved the feel and the pattern of, but no way could I wear it in public.  So instead of hauling out the sewing machine, I came up with this quick fix.  I’ve always liked empire waists that emphasize the bust line, so I simply pulled the front sides of the shirt back behind my arm til I found where it overlapped the back panel of material while still covering my bra line.  IMG_7159

Then I pulled the remaining fabric forward while keeping the front material tucked in the fold.

IMG_7161

After that I just started from the inside of the back hold point and sewed along my bust line.  I actually did that while I was wearing it, but just because I didn’t have any pins on hand and I was just kinda caught up in the moment.  IMG_7170

I did the same thing on the other side, just checking the the arm holes seemed about the same size.  The whole process took less that 30 minutes or so, and now I have a flattering cute top rather than a saggy baggy mess.  This of course would need to be a stretchy knit probably to start with for it to work, but I was pretty happy with the results.  As you can see I’m wearing another tank under, just because I didn’t want to worry about revealing too much in pictures, but it is definitely a stand alone piece.

One thought on “Easy D.I.Y.- Sewing FiX

Leave a Reply

