Cherry Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

Personally I was happy to drain the juices off and make a little cherry juice/ fireball cocktail to drink while I was baking.

I have never made cupcakes before… which I decided after having made these is a true shame.  Cupcakes are so awesome and that paper cup is such a perfect vessel to get the chocolatey goodness to school or work without a mess.

We luckily still have some cherries in the freezer from our picking spree in Montana this fall, and I pulled out a bag to make a cherry pie.  But I also wanted to make an easy treat to share with our neighbors who helped dislodge my car from the snowbank the other morning!  So with the left over cherries I decided to make some cherry chocolate cupcakes.  My mom has a recipe I used last time I tried to make cherry chocolate cake, but we weren’t thrilled with the results. So this time I decided to try another recipe I like and just give it a cherry/ chocolate chip twist and see what would happen.  I also happened to have bought the cutest cupcake paper cups at the craft store (which is so unlike me that if my friends read this they will probably think I’ve been abducted).  So I decided CUPCAKES!

I didn’t want the cherries to burn, so I poured each cup half full of batter, threw in 2-4 pitted cherries and a few choc. chips. Then I put in more batter to fill the cup 3/4th fill and added a few more chocolate chips on top.

They are disappearing fast, but here’s how I made them:

Quick Chocolate Cake:

Mix dry ingredients:

3 C flour       2t baking soda       1 t salt     1C sugar     1C brown sugar    1/2C cocoa powder

Add:

1t vanilla     3/4C coconut oil      2C cold water

blend well and then see above (below the pictures) to add cherries and chocolate chips into the batter in muffin cups to prevent burning.  I was using frozen cherries, so I drained off all the juices after they thawed, and again after pitting.  I’m not sure how differently this recipe would behave if you tried to use all the juices as well.  Personally I was happy to drain the juices off and make a little cherry juice/ fireball cocktail to drink while I was baking.

Voila, enjoy!

 

 

One thought on “Cherry Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

