170207 Copy an Artist Exercise

After doing this exercise I definitely get it more. So don’t listen to me, just try it. Whether it’s dance, or draw or rap or whatever.

ok, to be honest, I was So not looking forward to this that I pushed it back a day.  I didn’t have any idea who I wanted to pull from.  But, this is one of Twyla’s exercise ideas from her book The Creative Habit: Learn It and Use It for Life.  She explains that to be great sometimes we don’t know where to start, so we should follow the example of work we appreciate.  If even a bit of their creative spark can rub off on you, there’s no shame in admitting that they inspired you.  After doing this exercise I definitely get it more.  So don’t listen to me, just try it.  Whether it’s dance, or draw or rap or whatever.  As they say, fake it til ya make it ;).

I had been avoiding visual art for this study because my paints aren’t with me currently, so I felt like I couldn’t really do visual work.  I haven’t drawn seriously in a very long time.  So this exercise was great for me to see that I still have some technique bouncing around inside me, even if it never feels like that lately.  Usually when I draw I hit a point where I like it and I don’t want to wreck it.  That happened with this piece too, but my boyfriend said, “You always tell me I have to work through that point.”  So I took my own advice.  I also think as I get older I’m loosening up a little.  It’s ok if it doesn’t turn out perfect, there are bound to be some portions where I feel like something is working or improving and that’s enough.

So without further ado, here is the drawing I did last night and one in process.  Along with the source image from the Medicine Cards book, illustrations by Angela Werneke.  It took 1-2 hrs.

I didn’t do it quite like her, in pointillism style, I guess it was the feel of the animals that I appreciate most in her portrayal.

One thought on “170207 Copy an Artist Exercise

  1. Wondering if what looks like the 2nd of the 3 is where you wanted to stop. I’m glad you took T’s advice. I remember you telling us that one of your tasks as a teacher was to urge your students to keep looking for ways to refine or improve their art works; now you’re taking your own advice Really like the shading and Indian attachments to the circular border. I noticed this is your new profile pic on FB. Thought it was perfect for “Ms Fahn” 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

