Crockery Cooking & Curried Butternut Squash Soup Recipe

I rushed to the oven when I remembered it, imagining the blackened mess I would be scraping out using every muscle in my arm. But, instead I found the soup perfectly, deliciously baked with nice little vent holes.

If you can, I highly, highly recommend buying some oven and dishwasher safe ceramics to use for baking.  Today (Wednesday 1/25/17) was great proof of these hidden treasures.  This is my one bowl (See my Dry Cabin Minimalism Marriage post) for eating.  The amazing thing about this bowl is that I stuck it into the cold oven with cold soup, cranked it up to 350 degrees and literally, (accidentally!) forgot about it for over half an hour.  I rushed to the oven when I remembered it, imagining the blackened mess I would be scraping out using every muscle in my arm. But, instead I found the soup perfectly, deliciously baked with nice little vent holes.  The edges even had that delicious little crust that I only seem to achieve in ceramic ware.  I grated a bit of our current fancy cheese splurge, a Citrus Ginger BellaVitano, on top (it’s hard, like a parmesan) and within a spoonful I was in heaven.

The only thing you really MUST NOT DO to ceramics are to put them through an extreme heat change… so you always need to put it in when you are first warming up the oven.  If the oven is already hot, forget about using the ceramic, please!  If you are good to it, it will be oh so good to you.  With this dish I didn’t even have any residue to scrape away from the sides, amazing.

Here are a few examples of ceramics using a food safe glaze, but you can’t always tell by looking, best to buy from the artist and be sure they are confident about their glazes.

img_6340

Also, be sure you are using ceramic with a food safe glaze.  If you aren’t sure, don’t do it!  But these little puppies are worth their weight in gold, so if you find a good piece, nab it.  I made mine back in 2001, and it’s still going strong.  When looking for a sturdy piece, make sure the walls look like they are consistent in width, and that it won’t be to heavy for you to easily move in and out of the oven with your two hands covered in mitts.

In case you are interested, I’ll also include my

Curried Butternut Squash Soup recipe here:

(I bake the squash ahead of time while I’m doing something else in the oven, then it’s so quick to whip this together when you want to)

I chopped and cooked down

2.5 sweet onions, and

5 cloves of garlic

in a lg sauce pan with 2 T of butter.

Then I added 4C water with a lg chicken bouillon cube,

the 2lb of squash- (skinned and cubed in 1 in. chunks)

1t salt, 1t cumin, 1/2 t cayenne pepper

After it’s all warmed up, I remove it from heat and add

1/2 C half and half, 1 T honey, and 1/2C or more sour cream.

I blend it in batches in the blender, though I’d love to use an immersion blender if I had one…they are so slick!

When serving I put out cumin, pepper, and sour cream for people to add to taste.  Or fancy hard cheese if I have it 😉

Enjoy!

One thought on “Crockery Cooking & Curried Butternut Squash Soup Recipe

Leave a Reply

