170118: Circles of Accomplishment

Tharp in The Creative Habit: Learn It and Use It for Life says that one way she deals with all of the things she needs to accomplish is to write down everything she wants to achieve in the next few months.  More important goals are written larger in proportion to their import.  She also tries to estimate how much time needs to be dedicated to the task and how they may fit in relation to other things that need to be done.  Today my prompt comes from p. 178 of her book.

I found my goals in creativity at this point have not yet demanded to outweigh each other.  Maybe we are a team and everyone will get a turn, or perhaps some will come to the forefront as things progress.  For now, I am content with this exercise for providing me a reference point where I can jot down new ideas I may have or look for inspiration when I don’t know what I might want to do next.  I was hoping that might be the case, which is why I wanted to do this exercise toward the start of the trial.  I included the Accomplishment guide (which is all I can call it, since I haven’t really done the circles part) as the image for this post, but I will share a few things I have written down there. I found that I also wrote down things I want to accomplish that aren’t creative, but I made their own section on the page and won’t work on them during creative time.  But I figure, why not apply the idea to my life as widely as it may be effective.

Complete Active Practice Game- requires brainstorming (four activities), sketching, woodburning- on 8 tiles.

Creative Blog Posts- requires imagining ideas, writing, and some photography

Yoga and Dancing Sessions- video, clear space, maybe music, maybe set up Patreon

Spontaneous Creative Cooking- food items, kitchen, also applies to Dry Cabin Living

Jewelry Project- if access to studio

Drawing- observation, imaginative, and from photo

Photoshop- try to make Gator Grad Tee design if can do by deadline, check deadline

Art EDU Blog- Write blog posts and use pictures from traveling to share arts from around the world at arteducationation.blogspot.com

I may add more to this list, but at least it’s a starting point

17/01/29 Also starting to do jewelry work at home, what I can do with wire wrapping.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

