170117: Creative Autobiography

One I considered a success because of the attention it warranted from others. The other I consider a success because of the internal feeling of elation/ concentration/ balance I felt…

Day One 170117 9:44pm

Prompt: p. 45 of Tharp’s The Creative Habit: Learn It and Use It for Life

Tharp poses the questions below, I just took them one at a time and tried to be as honest in the moment as I could. I found the question about habits and routines to be the most challenging to self identify, I needed someone close to me to to help.

Creative Autobiography of Lara Fahnlander

What is the first creative moment you remember?

I guess fort building with my mom in the back yard. I thought it was such fun to make an entirely new space in our ordinary backyard. Realizing that the shelter could be made in different places and turn out differently because of our choices.

Was anyone there to witness or appreciate?

Yes, my mom.

What is the best idea you’ve ever had?

I guess deciding to be a good person everyday and help contribute to good feelings in the world.

What made it great in your mind?

Because it can influence everything else that happens in relation to me.

What is the dumbest idea?

To listen to someone else’s idea of what I should do with my life

What made it stupid?

Trusting someone else to know better than my own heart.

Can you connect the dots that led you to this idea?

Being young and unsure of the realities of what I might need to know or do to survive and thrive as a grown person.

What is your creative ambition?

To share the gifts that only I can contribute to the world. I want to unleash my pure creative self from inhibitions and the priorities of others and society.

What are the obstacles to this ambition?

Some obstacles are

time in relation to the needs that relationships and daily life seem to require

not being focused and clearly directed in my pursuits at all times

technology woes, energy levels, materials, location in various combinations or succession

What are the vital steps to achieving this ambition?

Carving time for this priority, keeping it in the forefront, getting digitally organized, creating a creative habit?

How do you begin your day?

I am not a very ritualistic person. The main consistent things are that I wake up fairly easily and happily and I always brush my teeth and run my fingers through my hair as a comb.

What are you habits? What patterns do you repeat?

Interesting question to ponder… Right now I try to always put my keys in the same place. I brush my teeth morning and night. I will have to discuss this question further with my boyfriend.

Describe your first successful creative act.

While in grade school I took an after school watercolor class. We had a show at the end of the course. A friend of my mom’s offered to buy one of my paintings. I turned her down.

Describe your second successful act.

Actually before the other, I would build block towers of varying shape, but only one block wide that were taller than me. I’m not sure if this is considered creative.

Compare them.

One I consider a success because of the attention it warranted from others. The other I consider a success because of the internal feeling of elation/concentration/balance I felt as I was able to build taller and taller.

10:12pm- converse with Taylor.

My boyfriend concurs I have few routines, but adds: I look in the mirror before leaving the house, usually put on earrings and necklace

Some habits: straighten my eyebrows without thinking, check my phone for time in the morning upon waking

Throughout year, but non-daily habit: keep track in my 10 yr. journal.

10:38pm

Leave a Reply

