Venison & Ginger Quiche Recipe

I realized I never would have combined these ingredients if I’d gone to the store. I also felt appreciative I could make something nice with the apples we were given this fall by a neighbor, and venison meat from my parents, and leftover ginger scraps others may have thrown away.

Since it looks like it may be a bit before I can begin my actual formal study, I’ve decided to look at what I can do to prepare.  I want to begin to notice natural moments of creativity that already occur in my life, that may otherwise go unnoticed.  I realized I have already done something creative today, but I didn’t acknowledge it until I began thinking about what to write.

I wanted to make a quiche, I love quiche.  I wanted to go to the store and buy some broccoli for the quiche, simply because I thought of it.  But two thoughts I encountered last night prevented my trip to the store.  (Spoiler)

Reviewing for my study, last night I reread parts of Twyla Tharp’s The Creative Habit, Learn It and Use It for Life. In short this woman is amazing, and I will be using her book to guide the first half of my formal study of how to develop a creative habit.  But one thing I read last night on page 161 stuck with me.  It said, when she asks an audience to give 60 new purposes to a common object the first third are obvious, the second third are more interesting and the last third are usually the most insightful and complex.

Last night I also finished watching The Minimalists. This movement has been building interest for years, but I like a good reminder that I need to be very conscious about my buying.  Do I really need broccoli?  Do I have a perfectly good alternative in the fridge, that might also qualify for the latter half of Tharp’s object uses list?  Turns out, I did.

I also realized that something I was doing for the purpose of eating does not negate it’s creative qualities.  These are all important realizations for me on the road to a creative habit.  Working with what you have can often forge creativity in an otherwise commonplace activity.  So in the end, here’s a new recipe for quiche… maybe someone in the world has already made it? Another good question.  Is it still creative even if it may have once existed somewhere in the world?

But seriously, here’s the quiche recipe:

On stove top med heat: 1T butter, Lg sweet onion diced, 1C diced apples, 3T ginger diced (mine was candied… left over from making a ginger simple syrup) 1/4 lb ground venison

In bowl: 5 eggs beaten, 1/4t each salt and pepper, shredded cheese- I did one Cup each of Cheddar, Mozzarella, and Goat cheese

Pouring softened saucepan items into bowl to mix and add 1C sauerkraut.

Bake 30 min @ 350… I do mine in muffin trays just to be easier to take to work.

I realized I never would have combined these ingredients if I’d gone to the store.  I also felt appreciative I could make something nice with the apples we were given this fall by a neighbor, and venison meat from my parents, and leftover ginger scraps others may have thrown away.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

